Recipe: Vegetarian soup Chourba Adess from Algeria!

Chourba Adess

This is a very simple vegetarian soup. People from countries of Northern Africa and Arabic countries eat this soup during Ramadan. I got this recipe just today, because I needed one spice in the special middle eastern store, then I saw they had fresh bread from Iran and Turkey, so I asked the manager of the store if he could tell me something about his food, so he recommended to prepare this soup. I tried to google search more about this recipe, but most of the Chourba has lamm meat in it. My kids loved this soup! Very healthy!

For 1 liter of water
¼ cup of red lentils (you do not need to soak in water)
1 carot
1 tomato (peeled and take out the seeds)
1 tsp butter
salt and ⅛ tsp of cumin

Ingredients
in cubes

1. Boil water and add all ingredients and cook for 20 minutes in medium heat.

1/8 tsp of cumin

2. Blend soup and add butter.
3. Enjoy with the flat bread and some fruits!

I added about 1tsp butter, maybe more

Preparation time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes
Portion size: 4 adults
Typ: I served with pineapples, my stomach has sometimes problems with lentils, so pineapples help!

Flat bread from Turkey

 

Bil hana wish shifa!
May you have your meal with gladness and health!
Susi

Leave a Reply

