Recipe: Orange, Pistachio, Almond Cookies!

This is a recipe from my mother-in-law, from her book “The Love Book of Cooking”. I made some adjustments, based on our taste. This is very easy to prepare, but it takes a while for all the cookies to be baked, because I add only one tray at a time. You can add multiple trays at a time, but my oven bakes better if I add one at a time. You can also add coco powder, smarties chocolates or m&m chocolates, you name it! Have fun baking and have a good start of the week!

1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
½ cup butter ( I cut in half the 250g that you can buy here in Germany)
1 egg
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda (kaiser natron)
1 tsp. baking powder (backpulver)
1 zest orange
2 TBSP orange juice from the orange
1 pak pistachio (25 g, chopped)
¼ cup almonds (ground)
vanilla flavour (vanilla zucker)

Ingredients
this is how the dough looks like
before
after

1. mix sugar and butter
2. add the egg, vanilla flavour, zest orange and the orange juice
3. add flour, 1 cup at a time, salt, baking soda, baking powder, then the second cup of flour
4. add pistachio, almonds
5. make little balls, or desired size of cookies and put in baking sheets at 160C for 15 minutes.

Preparation: 15 minutes
Baking time: 15 minutes
Work: For me total of 1,5 hour
Quantity: Because I make small balls, it can give me a total of 60 little cookies. My husband likes the cookies softer, so I bake them for about 12 or 13 minutes, I like the cookies crispy, so I bake them for 15 minutes. You can always adjust to your taste. My kids eat the cookies with a glass of milk, they dunk the cookies in the milk. Delicioso y Divertido! Oh, don’t forget the cup of coffee…

Have a good week!
Susi

Leave a Reply

