Recipe: Sweet Cornbread ♪

The first time I had cornbread was at my parents-in-law’s house in Kentucky. This is a traditional bread from the South of the United States. This was introduced much later in Europe. In Latin America there is a similar recipe as well and it is called “humintas”, the difference is that you cook with fresh corn. The cornbread is prepared with cornmeal. In Mexico, you have the “tamales”, you also prepare with cornbread and you add some tomatoes, that is why they are reddish. I have served this cornbread to my friends for afternoon tea, with whipped cream and with homemade hot sweet sour cherries. It was a success. Certainly my husband and kids were very happy. I took this recipe from Nicole Humphrey from www.dailydishrecipes.com , this was pinned on my Pinterest as well, for your information. (board: inspiration through others) and I communicated Nicole that I used her recipe. Thank you very much.
½ cup cornmeal
1 ½ cup flour
½ + ⅙ sugar
1 TBSP baking powder
½ tsp salt
⅓ cup oil
⅙ cup melted butter
1 TBSP honey
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup milk

 

Ingredients
1. mix all dry ingredients first, then add all liquid ingredients and mix.
2. bake for 45’ at 170C
Mix all dry ingredients first, in the middle add all liquid ingredients and mix.

Before


This is it ♪

Tip: you can serve either with salads, appetizers or with main course. As I mentioned above, I served for an afternoon tea.

Enjoy cornbread♪
Susi
Leave a Reply

