My Family at the Table: I don’t like Spinach !

Does the title sound familiar to you? “Mommy, I don’t like spinach, because it tastes like grass.” “Susana, not today, I cannot handle spinach, I am very stressed because of work” That, I hear with some other ingredients as well, but I found two recipes that my kids and my husband will not only eat, but repeat and request this dish.  Two dishes: Spinach Gnocchi, inspired by my book “Savoring Tuscany” by William-Sonoma and Spinach Mac and Cheese. This one is my own. We were on vacation last year, had a budget, meaning, I could not spend much, but the kids had to have his vegetable intake of the day. These two meals are our comfort food.

Spinach Gnocchi

1 package of frozen spinach, chopped (if you buy fresh, then you have to remove the stems)
1 small white onion, chopped
1 cup of ricotta cheese
1 egg yolk
¾ cup flour
¼ cup parmesan cheese
olive oil
salt, pepper

1. in olive oil, cook onions until soft, add spinach and little water and cover. Turn over many times, until spinach is melted.
2. cool the spinach for about 10 minutes, then add all ingredients and mix.
3. form little balls with an ice cream scoop.
4. place gnocchies in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes or until you see they get a little brown.

Preparation and cooking time: Around 50 minutes to an hour, including baking.
Tip: I also serve with an fried egg and some salad.The picture on the left, red beets salad with homemade Mac ‘n’ Cheese.



Spinach Mac ‘n’ Cheese

1 package of frozen spinach, chopped
Velveta cheese (Schmelzkäse)
Any pasta you like.

1. melt spinach, once melted, add cheese little by little.

Preparation and cooking time: About 15 minutes.

This is it ♪♪

Susi













Does the title sound familiar to you? “Mommy, I don’t like spinach, because it tastes like grass.” “Susana, not today, I cannot handle spinach, I am very stressed because of work” That, I hear with some other ingredients as well, but I found two recipes that my kids and my husband will not only eat, but repeat and request this dish.  Two dishes: Spinach Gnocchi, inspired by my book “Savoring Tuscany” by William-Sonoma and Spinach Mac and Cheese. This one is my own. We were on vacation last year, had a budget, meaning, I could not spend much, but the kids had to have his vegetable intake of the day. These two meals are our comfort food.

Spinach Gnocchi

1 package of frozen spinach, chopped (if you buy fresh, then you have to remove the stems
1 small white onion
1 cup of ricotta cheese
1 egg yolk
¾ cup flour
¼ cup parmesan cheese

1. in olive oil, cook onions until soft, add spinach and little water and cover. Turn over many times, until spinach is melted.
2. cool the spinach for about 10 minutes, then add all ingredients and mix.
3. form little balls with an ice cream scoop.
4. place gnocchies in the oven and backe for about 20 minutes or until you see they get a little brown.

Preparation and cooking time: Around 50 minutes to an hour, including baking.
Tip: I serve with an fried egg and some salad. The picture on the very right is red beet salad, with home made Mac ‘n’ Cheese.



Spinach Mac ‘n’ Cheese

1 package of frozen spinach, chopped
Velveta cheese (Schmelzkäse)
Any pasta you like.

1. melt spinach, once melted, add cheese little by little.

Preparation and cooking time: About 15 minutes.

Yeah, my family eat spinach ♪♪
Susi





Leave a Reply

