Recipe: Lamb and Zucchini Curry ♪

This recipe is a mix from different sources. I once again used www.BBCGoodFood.com recipe’s Lamb & Spinach Curry. I also used my own recipe Chicken Makhani as well, both combined is my Lamb with Zucchini Curry. I will tell you why I combined those two. Main reason is, BBCGoodFood’s recipe says one of the spice is ground coriander and I did not have this in hand and did not want to add “dried coriander or dried cilantro”, so I started looking online for a substitute. Curry, Cumin, Garam Masala powder are some options, then I suddenly remembered that I made my own Garam Masala. I still wanted to try BBCGoodFood’s recipe, with tomatos. The combination of my Garam Masala and the tomatos are certainly perfect I thought and it is. So some of you would think, then why didn’t I go to the grocery store and purchased ground coriander and I will answer this. When I don’t plan a menu for the week, I always purchase basic vegetables, onions, carrots, tomatoes, celery and some specials, like zucchini, cabbage, daikon…then I buy little quantities of meat, chicken, beef, sometimes lamb. Since I only go to the grocery store once a week (that helps me with my finances, time and less stress with the kids), I freeze the meat that I do not use immediately. I thought that I had defrost some beef, it was not, it was lamb. Immediately I jumped to my google search and started to search for a recipe, the first thing it came to my head was curry, so I typed curry lamb and I always click the most popular one. We certainly enjoyed this meal. First I would like to show you my Garam Masala.

Garam Masala
1 tsp. of each: cloves, cumin, mustard corns, black pepper corns,.
1/4 tsp. of each: garlic powder, little paprika sweet, nutmeg and 1 bay leaf
1.Mix all, toast and crush all spices.
Preparation time: Total of about 20 minutes.


Ingredients for Garam Masala
toasted, ready to be crushed

 

this is it ♪


Lamb & Zucchini Curry with Garam Masala

200g Lamb
2 tomatoes
1 garlic
1 onion
little ginger
1 tsp. Garam Masala
1/4 tsp. Curcuma
little yoghurt
1 TBSP tomato paste
1 cup water
salt, pepper
Ingredients

1. in oil, cook onions and garlic until soft, add lamb and cook until brown.
2. add zucchini, tomatoes and ginger, mix then add Garam Masala and Curcuma, mix well.
3. add water, tomato paste, salt, pepper, lower heat and cook for about 15 minutes.
4. add natural yoghurt to soften flavours.
Step 1
Step 2, before adding spices.
Step 3, before cooking 15 minutes.
This is it ♪

Prepartion time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes
Tip: you can always add more heat into your Garam Masala…

Please enjoy your meal.
Susana






Leave a Reply

