Recipe: Shrimp and Grits ♪

Hey y’all! Shrimp and Grits became a challenge recipe after I have met Chef Dadisi Olutosin on Google+. He posted his own version of Shrimp and Grits and decided to challenge this. Through Chef Dadisi I have learned that the cuisine between Lowcountry, Cajun, Creole, Caribbean, they are all different. I am still learning. My husband is from Kentucky. Through his family I have learned some of their cuisine, Southern cuisine. I was under the impression that all Southern States ( http://www.nationalplantboard.org/img/southern.gif) have a similar style of cuisine.  Louisiana as we know is different and below you can read a short description of Lowcountry cuisine (South Carolina, Georgia), which it is also different. All I can tell you is that I thought that Southern Cuisine was the same as Lowcountry cuisine. Cajun and Creole, a all another story.
So I will still discover and understand the differences with experience. Today I am showing you my own version of Shrimp and Grits.  My mother-in-law explained me what a gravy is. How I understand is, Gravy is the Sauce Béchamelle. I finally decided to go ahead and present my Shrimp and Grits, although I am still learning about what I mentioned above.
Short Introduction through Wikipedia.
Lowcountry cuisine is thecooking traditionally associated with theSouth Carolina Lowcountry and the Georgia coast. While it shares features withSouthern cooking, its geography, economics, physics, demographics, and culture pushed its culinary identity in a different direction from regions above thefall line. With its rich diversity of seafood from the coastalestuaries, its concentration of wealth inCharleston andSavannah, and a vibrantCaribbean cuisine andAfrican cuisine influence, Lowcountry cooking has strong parallels withNew Orleans andCajun cuisine.
Above is exactly a copy from Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lowcountry_cuisine
250g Shrimps
1 garlic
1 TBSP butter
white wine to deglace
parsley
1 TBSP butter + 1 TBSP flour + 1,5cup milk ( this is how I like my gravy, you can add less or more milk) + 1/4 tsp muskat
salt, pepper, cayenne pepper
green onions
Ingredients
1. in a pan, brown shrimps in butter for about one minute or until they are orange, add salt, pepper and cayenne pepper, then immediately add garlic. Mix.
2. remove shrimps then make your gravy.
3. add shrimps again. Serve with green onions on top if you would like.
Preparation time: 5 minutes.
Cooking time: 5 minutes.
Grits: I boiled 1 cup of water, 1,5 cup milk, 1 TBSP butter, 1,4 tsp. muskat, then slowly I added Cornmeal. (I cannot find Grits here in Emden, Germany but I still have my bag of Cornmeal, so that is what I used to make my Grits)
Preparation time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 10 minutes.
Enjoy your meal y’all!
Susana
Leave a Reply

