Recipe: Malaysian Ayam Goreng♪

It all started with a picture that Jackie M. Malaysian Cuisine from Malaysian Food, Travel & Culture Community on Google+. I re-posted this on my facebook page “Delicioso y Divertido” as well. So I started doing some research and Ayam Goreng is also a traditional recipe from Indonesia. There are many different recipes, different spices and secrets. I looked up probably five different recipes online and this is what I think I like my Ayam Goreng to taste. One of the recipe says that I need Turmeric and could not locate that spice in Emden, Germany. Luckily I was on Google+ and read a posting of DrPuneet Aggarwal on Google+, who on April 13th, he posted an article about Turmeric. This spice is curcuma, so I have this in my pantry and I decided to go ahead and explore this taste. My brother lives in Kuala Lumpur and told me about the three main different cultures in Malaysia; Muslims, Chinese and Indian descent. Work ethic, food, traditions are very diverse. If I understood it correctly, this recipe Ayam Goreng is from the Chinese Malaysia tradition. The mix of the bitter, strong spices with sweet taste, sugar, orange, apricots juice made this meal a new journey for my family. Dan enjoyed the lemongrass, while Ken asked me if we can eat leaves from a tree:)

For 5 chicken wings
1 Star Anise
5 cardamom seeds
1/6 tsp cardamom powder
1/4 tsp ginger powder
1/4 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp curcuma (turmeric)
2 TBSP apricot and orange juice
salt to taste
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 shallot
little green onion
1 garlic
1 ginger
little lemongrass for garniture
1 TBSP soy sauce
1/2 TBSP oil
3 TBSP cornstarch with little garlic powder, mixed (optional: to make meat crispy)
Ingredients  

1. mix all dry ingredients except lemon grass and cornstarch.
2. add chicken, and rub. Marinate meat for about 30 minutes, if you can.
3. before fry, remove Star Anise and cardamom seeds.
4. add cornstarch
5. Fry chicken in a pan, like about 4 minutes each side or until brown. Once you turn around the meat, cover in low heat for 4 minutes. Check if meat is all cooked.
6. Add lemongrass on top.
Step 1
Step 2
Step 3 and 4
Step 5
Step 5, turned around
This is it ♪

Preparation time: 45 minutes, including marinating
Cooking time: about 10 minutes.

Selamat Makan!
Susana

Leave a Reply

