Recipe: Couscous with sauce Mafé, beef stew from Senegal

A beef stew from Senegal, a country located on the West Coast of Africa. It is a stew, so you add the vegetables you like and the main ingredient is “peanut”. The recipe I followed is from my network community on Google+ “West African Influenced Cuisine, managed by Chef Dadisi Olutosin and I made my own version of “Mafé”. I also took some advice from my network, again from my Google+ circle, Azlin Bloor.

The original recipe is with ground beef, I used Mock tender steak and cut in little pieces.

180g mock tender steak, cut in little pieces

1/4 small onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped

1TBSP tomato paste

1 small tomato, cut in cubes

vegetable broth, enough to cover all the ingredients

1 little carrot, cut in cubes

1 small potato, cut in cubes

1 tsp hot sauce (anything you have, to give a spice in your stew)(optional)

1 full TBSP peanut butter

lemon juice

red wine to deglace

1. in oil, caramelize the onions and garlic, add meat, brown.

2. deglace with little red wine.

3. add tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, mix and add broth.

4. add little hot sauce, peanut butter, tomato paste and lemon juice, just half of the lemon.

5. cook in low heat covered for about 30 to 40 minutes, or until vegetables are soft.

You can serve this with Couscous. The original recipe is with Fonio, a grain that is eaten in Senegal. I was unable to locate this here in Miami.

My kids and my husband loved this recipe. I would cook this again.

Susana

Leave a Reply

