Recipe: Medovink

I waited long enough to post this recipe. I was still in Emden, Germany. The first time I had this, was at my neighbors house. He turned 85 years old and he had a cake. He and his wife always had a pot of coffee and a cake for visitors…They did not know the name of the cake, but they described that and their made had brought him the cake. I asked some people from Russia for this recipe, in Emden, nobody had this recipe and could not find the name of the cake. That is why Google search is just fantastic. For me baking is an extra effort, so I didn’t think this recipe it was easy. The cake for certain looks much prettier when it is done correctly. The important thing is that I made this cake! It is worth it! every bite. The best time to eat the cake is, when you let it rest the cake in the refrigerator a all night before serving. I had to have it immediately!

for the dough:

5 eggs

pinch salt

1 cup sugar

3 TBSP butter

3 TBSP honey

1,5 tsp baking soda

2 coups flour

walnuts

dulce de leche

1. mix eggs, salt, sugar and make it creamy.

2. melt butter and mix with honey and this into #1, then add baking soda and flour.

you bake this 3 separate times in a baking flat plate. 1) First time 10 min. at 500F or until done. 2) 5 minutes 3) 4 minutes. Please see the pictures on my facebook page Delicioso y Divertido. There you will see the step by step process.

for the filling:

1/2 cup sour cream

1,5 cup cream

1/2 powdered sugar

1. whip all together, the leave this in the refrigerator.

LAST PROCESS: When all the 3 layers of doughs are ready, then you do this:

dough, dulce de leche, filling, walnuts, then on top, dough, dulce de leche filling, walnuts, then the last layer dough, dulce de leche, filling, walnuts.

Cut the all cake in half and put the half part on top of the other half and you have six layers.

I read that a traditional Medovink has 8 layers, honestly I cannot tell you what is correct, all I know this is just delicious.

Susana

Leave a Reply

