Recipe: Chicken stew from Punjabi region (Pakistan)!

I must say that I was a little confused with this recipe, somewhat I forgot an ingredient.

The real recipe’s title is Punjabi murgh Channay, which means Punjabi, a region that goes from Pakistan, northern India and south Asia. If I understood it correctly, murgh is chicken and Channay involves cooking with chick-pea. For some reason, when I was cooking, I had in my head that I had to add peas, (in my head, green peas). Certainly when I am researching on the recipe while posting, I realized that I did not have chick-peas in the stew. However, I must say, that this tasted with accuracy, very tasty. The cardamoms definitely gave a wonderful flavor to the stew. I copied this recipe and added some other ingredients, from http://www.foodaholic.biz.

This recipe is from Lahore, Pakistan.

10 drumsticks

1/2 white onion, chopped

4 garlic, chopped

30 pcs cardamom

1 stick cinnamon

1 tsp. cardamom ground

1 tsp. coriander

1/2 tsp red chili powder

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. curry

salt

oil

cornstarch

3l water

1. brown onions

2.brown chicken, add water, bring to boil, add all spices and garlic and browned onions. salt to taste.

3. cook for about 30 minutes, add 1 tsp. cornstarch, dissolved in cold water to the stew.

Add fresh parsley, serve.

Hope you enjoy it!

Susana @ Delicioso y Divertido

Leave a Reply

